A Real Ass Kicker

As you know, I love the Shred.  After a few weeks of doing it consistently, I felt pretty damn buff.   But the truth is that I’m not much of a weight-training kind of person, and I really prefer straight up cardio and resistance training that doesn’t use weights.  So I tried this:

jm metabolismAnd I really like it.  It’s got the usual jumping business that Jillian seems to love, but it’s also got a lot of kickboxing moves, which I really enjoy.  There’s a lot of oblique work, as well as standing ab stuff, which is a nice change from Pilates.  A major bonus is that it’s a full 40 minutes (not including warm up/cool down), which, if you’ve done any Jillian Michaels videos in the past, you know is a LONG time to be working out.  It’s a great way to mix up the Shred workouts (which, to be honest, I haven’t done in a long while) and to give the ol’ quads a break (though be warned, there is one circuit that just might kill your quads – I sometimes skip it).

This is my favorite workout right now, as it gives me that calm/endorphin rush feeling I used to get after running long distances.  And let’s be honest, I enjoy all the punching, kicking, and knee-thrusts.

One response to “A Real Ass Kicker

  1. I’m a HUGE shred fan, looking forward to trying this one.

Leave a Reply

