Let’s Get Out of This Country

Speaking of my recent wedding, my husband and I have yet to go on a real out-of-the-country honeymoon. Ages ago we’d conceived of a month-long trip to Vietnam (one of the few regions of the world that neither of us has been to and both of us are interested in visiting). However that plan quickly got derailed for numerous reasons (e.g. photographing a friend’s wedding exactly a month after ours, not being able to picture what we would do with our dogs for an entire month, etc.). When we discovered an excuse to go to South Africa this fall, we jumped on it. We’ll be meeting up with friends who live in London but have family/roots in South Africa, as well as a Swiss friend with whom my husband traveled across Africa ten years ago. It will be a reunion of sorts for them, but also hopefully a fun first trip abroad as newlyweds.

My husband has been here before, and tells me it’s paradise:
bulungula

In planning this trip, I realize it’s been more than two years since my last international adventure. I *finally* uploaded the photos from that trip (a week in Beijing and three weeks in the Mongolian countryside) to the internet, so even though it’s not ‘news,’ I thought I’d post a few of my favorite photos from that trip:

DSCF2830

DSCF3010

DSCF3123

DSCF3203

DSCF3108

DSCF3483

DSCF3067

Hopefully there are many more adventures to come!

One response to “Let’s Get Out of This Country

  1. Pingback: Travel Dreams Dashed « Parenthetical Thoughts