Top 5 Wedding Regrets

So I already gave you my tips for staying present on the day of your wedding.  I think I did a pretty good job of following my own advice.  I had a fantastic day overall, but I have to admit, there are a few things that went awry that still nag at me a *teeny* bit.  I present you with my Top 5 Wedding Regrets (TM).   I know it’s not good to dwell, and honestly I’m pretty much over all of this.  But perhaps there is a lesson or two in the small things that went wrong on my day that a bride out there will find handy.

1) I rushed my friends.  I got anxious about the schedule when my bridesmaids and I were getting ready in our hotel room, and was a bit terse with them while trying to get everyone out the door.  I wish I had just taken a deep breath and asked one of my BMs to help collect everyone and get us to the formal portraits on time.  I don’t think this was a biggie overall, and no one was late to the photos.  I will have to remember to cut my friends some slack when they get married 🙂

2) Our wedding party was announced by the DJ.  I hadn’t been planning on this, and I really wasn’t in to it.  It made me feel nervous and silly, and it was a pain in the arse getting everyone together in the lobby before making our entrance.  While not traumatizing, I would certainly have been fine without it.

3) I didn’t circulate enough.  I spent most of the evening at my sweetheart table with my husband (I loved having our own table) and the rest of the time dancing with my friends.  I was so excited to see my friends from college that I neglected to check in with my grandparents during the reception.  I had spent time with them in the days leading up to the wedding, so I didn’t feel THAT terrible, but if I had to do it over again, I would’ve made sure to spend a little time with them.

4) The reception music wasn’t what I had planned.  We’d given our DJ cds with the songs we wanted him to play.  He played about two of them in the first two hours of the reception.  Music is important to me, as it really sets the mood and expresses who the bride and groom are.  Plus, I’d been looking forward to rocking out to certain songs with my friends (and not to YMCA and the other usual wedding stuff).  I ended up having my only cry of the evening over this (which made me feel extremely lame).  The good part is that my friends rallied around me and asked the DJ to play more of the music that I’d requested.  I really appreciated this, as I didn’t have it in me to duke it out with him at that point.

5) I didn’t make a speech.  I’m not a public speaker by ANY MEASURE.  I think the idea of planning a speech would probably have been too much for me on top of all the regular wedding nerves.  But I would’ve liked to have thanked my family publicly and acknowleged all the love that I was feeling that day.  I think I was able to do this to some degree with thank you cards.

Overall, there was nothing drastically regrettable.  Like I said, my memories of my wedding are pretty much all wonderful.  The only negative association that I have with my wedding is the night shortly after the event where I got plastered on leftover champagne and proceeded to make a fool out of myself in front of my new husband’s friends from England 😦  Not my finest moment.  Anyhow, fret not — my top 5 ‘things I’m glad I did’ are coming up next!

3 responses to “Top 5 Wedding Regrets

  1. waaaaaaaaiiiiiiiit a second… maybe I haven’t been reading this blog long enough… and I’m too lazy to look back… but that was YOUR wedding, with the grove and the benches and the amazingness?!?!?!?! I LOVED the pictures of that wedding!!! Where did I see them before? weddingbee? indie bride?

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Things I’m Glad I Did « Parenthetical Thoughts

Leave a Reply

