White Folks: Have You Lost Your Damn Mind?

So there are a lot of very serious issues of race in this presidential election, which are undeniable and upsetting. But how better to address people’s bigotry than with humor?

Grier actually brings up a point I think about a lot, and perhaps those of you more learned in race and sociological studies can enlighten me — why are people of mixed race like Barack Obama always referred to in the media and popular culture as ‘black’ or ‘Asian’ or ‘Latino’ but rarely as ‘mixed race?’ I think I know why, but perhaps someone else has a better answer.

2 responses to “White Folks: Have You Lost Your Damn Mind?

  1. I don’t have a good answer, but I just mentioned this (“why does everyone call him black?”) to Tim the other day. It drives me crazy. I don’t know – I mean, I think it goes both ways. On one hand, I’d like to think it’s a pride issue coming from a person’s minority half… they identify strongly as black, Hispanic, Asian, etc. and present themselves more from that angle. I only say that because I have a lot of half-Asian friends who identify more as Asian than white. But then there’s obviously the more unfortunate side, which is that the media and the public want to draw attention to what they see as either a negative or just something of import. It’s ridiculous. Obama has been identified (maybe by himself?) as post-racial, which is a hopeful label. But then you hear quotes like McCain and a volunteer last week, and you realize how far we have to go. Volunteer:”I’ve heard about him. He’s… he’s ARAB.” McCain: “No ma’am. He’s a DECENT MAN.” Whaaaaaaaaa?

  2. Oh my goodness, I just read an article about the Arab/decent man comment. This is INSANE. Apparently truth is irrelevant in this election 😦

Leave a Reply

