Energizing Thoughts

photos from my neighborhood

Fall colors: photos from my neighborhood

Fall is probably my favorite time of year. In the last six years, I have spent the lovely season in San Francisco, Walla Walla, WA, Ghana, and Oakland, CA. Even though we don’t have true seasons in the Bay Area, there is a warming trend in San Francisco in October, and lately in Oakland there have been brisk, beautiful mornings. I find the end of September and most of October to be energizing times, possibly because of the association I have with new beginnings. Even though I’m not starting anything new this fall (except that it’s my first fall as a married person), I’ve found some kind of strange source of energy that wakes me up before my alarm goes off when it’s still dark outside.  Here are some things that have put a spring in my step so far this season:

  • The aforementioned cool weather: the brisk air on my morning dog walks makes me happy.  It reminds me of fall in places where there are actual seasons.
  • The prospect of taking a few academic classes this winter.  It’s been almost four years (I graduated in December ’04) since I’ve been in school!  I hope my brain still works.
  • The economic downturn.  While it depressed me at first, it also spurred me into action — into things like looking at other careers, graduate school, and thinking of ways to save money.
  • My dogs.  They greet me with enthusiasm when I come home everyday, and it never fails to make me smile.  They also help rouse me from bed in the morning, even when it’s pitch black and doesn’t feel like it could possibly be time to get up.
  • Laughing hard about silly stuff.  I’m lucky to have a husband who is one of the funniest people I know, as well as many outrageously hilarious friends.
  • Reading c jane enjoy it, as well as the archives of the author’s sister’s blog The Nie Nie Dialogues.  I don’t know if it’s my Mormon/Utah roots (on my mom’s side) or what, but I find these women fascinating and their energy contagious.  I’m also glued to Courtney’s blog to hear about Stephanie and her husband’s recovery.
  • Walking around aimlessly and taking pictures.
  • Realizing for the billionth time that it is totally fabulous to no longer be planning a wedding!!
  • Knowing the election will soon be over and hopefully I will no longer have to debate politics with my husband.
From where do you draw your energy?
3 responses to “Energizing Thoughts

  1. I love fall too — great to hear what you’re up to. Are you a practicing Mormon? Just curious — if you’d rather not say I completely understand and respect that.

  2. Nope, not a Mormon – I wasn’t really raised in any religion. I do however have Mormon lineage on my mom’s side that goes back to the age of Brigham Young. My mom and her four sisters were raised Mormon but all of them have since left the church (my mom left during college).

  3. Interesting. I find the history of the Mormon church kind of fascinating so I was curious.

Leave a Reply

