Rambling and Sleep-Deprived

I don’t know if it’s the weather, the current economic state, or just me, but there seem to be a number of things that are dragging me down lately.  Namely:

  • My job is slow slow slow.  And I can’t help but feel that it’s a sinking ship.
  • I have a lot of free time during the week now thanks to half-time employment, which is great in some senses, but sometimes I get stuck in a rut of, “none of my friends have this time off, and I can’t spend any money anyway.”  I’m trying to remedy this by a) taking dance classes, b) running and c) walking the mile and half to the library on Thursdays and picking up new books and DVDs with which to amuse myself.
  • Being married is not easy (nor is being in any committed relationship, come to think of it).  There are some issues that need working on that I have been avoiding out of laziness.

But a few things are buoying me up too.  Let’s focus on those:

  • I registered for classes for my grad program, and realized the whole thing only costs about $12,000.  I mean, that’s no small chunk of change by any means, but I feel like it’s a steal compared to what some of my friends are paying for grad school, and won’t leave me with a crippling amount of debt.
  • I watched an introductory slideshow for the grad program where the associate director warned incoming students that we should enjoy the next few months of freedom, for we are about to become “frenzied individuals.”  🙂 Hopefully I’ll be more busy than frenzied, because for me, busy = happy.
  • Thanksgiving is going to be a gigantic hootenany which will include my parents, my brother and his girlfriend, my aunt, uncle and their three young kids, various friends of my mom, and my friend who recently moved to the Bay Area.
  • My husband and I might photograph another wedding early next year.  I had a blast at the one we did this summer and cannot wait for this one.
  • The canceling of our belated honeymoon to South Africa (which we would’ve left for TODAY) not only means we’ll be with my family for Thanksgiving (see above) but that we get to plan a different adventure some time in the future. I’m thinking… Ireland?  Vietnam?  Mexico?  
Leave a Reply

