30 Day Shred: Day 25

Sorta. I’ve been doing the Shred about five times a week, and taking one day off on the weekends, and running the other day. My overall goal is increased strength, and though my muscles aren’t exactly rippling, I definitely notice a difference.

The first week was one of sore quads. There are so many damned squats in this workout. I managed to push through the pain, and after a while the only thing holding me back was my pure level of fitness. I’m a fairly fit person, being a pretty regular runner and dancer most of my life. However the intensity of the Shred workout is such that level 2 is still kicking my ass hardcore after three and a half weeks.

I tried level 3 once when I was feeling brave and that shit was INSANE. I was sweating out of every pore in my body at the same time. The good thing about these workouts though, once you’re accustomed to them, is that they don’t wipe you out for the rest of the day. You still have energy to go on a hike, walk, or even a run if you’re ambitious.

The upshot of it all? When I went for my usual run on Friday, I felt like a gazelle. My legs had so much spring and energy to them, I felt like I could run ten miles. And I wasn’t feeling that muscle heaviness I normally feel at the end of a run. That in itself is reason enough for me to continue to let Jillian kick my ass.

Also, I noticed Exercise TV has posted some of Jillian’s mini workouts on Hulu.  I don’t have the discipline to do the reps on my own (without her doing them alongside me, warning me against “phoning it in”) but if you do, check it out: http://www.hulu.com/videos/search?query=jillian+michaels.

2 responses to “30 Day Shred: Day 25

  1. I’m on day 1 and seriously I am sore in places I never knew was possible. My goal is to do it 5 days a week and swim on the 6th day and rest on the 7th.

  2. Pingback: Things I DO Understand. And Love. « Parenthetical Thoughts

Leave a comment