Cheap Eats: Fried (Brown) Rice

Today has been one of the most frustratingly unproductive days of my life.  I’m past the honeymoon phase with graduate school, and into the heart of the marriage, as it were.  Not having other distractions like a job is starting to work against me.  I can spend all day staring at my computer screen, trying to write a paper while being distracted by any number of blogs, gossip and news sites I feel the need to check compulsively.  Fie on you, Google Reader!  I was a better student back in 2004, when I’d never tasted your evil fruits or experienced your endless potential for wasting time!

Well, at least I was able to rip myself away from my computer’s hypnotic gaze to make myself a square meal or two.  I had some leftover brown rice (cooked with vegetable stock – I always add tomato paste or stock or something like that to make it more flavorful), zucchini, red pepper, eggs, shallots, and tofu, so I decided to fry them up:

fried-riceHm… it really doesn’t look like much (no thanks to my crappy camera phone), but believe me, it’s semi-wholesome and it hit the spot.  Here’s how I made it.

  • Slice a few shallots and a handful of veggies up very finely and sauté them in olive oil on high heat until they are lightly browned
  • Dice up some tofu into small squares and add it to the mix
  • Add a bit more oil, then add a few cups of cooked rice (I used brown)
  • Cook until rice is slightly browned
  • Stir in two eggs and mix thoroughly
  • Cook until eggs are done, and top with soy sauce 

So easy and so quick!  But a LOT easier if you have a non-stick pan.  And like so many of  the best foods, it’s carb-based 🙂 But if you make it with brown rice, you can pretend it’s health food.

One response to “Cheap Eats: Fried (Brown) Rice

  1. That rice sounds delicious! I usually buy the prepackaged one from Trader Joe’s but I’m going to keep your recipe in mind for next time!

Leave a Reply

