Shred: Week 7

I’ve been doing the Shred for nearly two months.  Here are my stats:

  • Level 1: 16 times
  • Level 2: 12 times
  • Level 3: 3 times
  • Shred-type-workout, on my own, to music: 3 times

That’s 34 strength workouts over the last seven weeks, or about five workouts per week. I’ve mixed in a few runs and bike rides as well.  The results?  Well, I can’t say I look like this:

biggest-loser2-jillian21And I can’t tell you if I’ve lost weight, because I don’t own a scale (and weight loss wasn’t really my goal anyhow).  What I CAN tell you is that I’ve gotten a lot stronger.  I can do squats for a minute straight with no problem.  I’ve noticed muscles in my arms that I hadn’t seen in quite a while.  And my abs, though they will probably never ever look like Jillian’s (I love my carbs far too much) feel very strong.  I don’t know if I’ve lost weight or just am more toned all over, but I notice a difference when I look in the mirror.  My real dream, though, is to be able to do this.  Maybe not in this lifetime, but I can hope, right?

Here are my tips for making the Shred a little bit more interesting:

  • Mix up the moves.  If I get tired of doing Level 1, I’ll do Level 3 and just substitute some of the cardio sequences for those in Level 1 or 2 to make it easier.  I’ve also added harder moves to Level 1 to make it more difficult.
  • Once you know the sequences, set a timer, put on some music, and do them without the video.  This is nice for a change of pace, but I still rely on the video to push me into that higher sphere of performance (i.e. pain)
  • Take time off.  If you notice muscle fatigue, take a day (or two) off.  Go for a run, a hike, or just give yourself a day off of exercise.  I know you’re supposed to be able to do the Shred everyday (since it’s mostly using the resistance of your own body plus light weights) but muscles can get run down all the same.  I noticed my biceps aching today when I was doing curls – it’s time for a day off.
  • Eat a high-protein snack after your workout.  I learned this from marathon training.  It helps build muscle, so you can look like this:

huge_musclesAwesome.

    One response to “Shred: Week 7

    1. ewwwww that girl looks gross in the bikini

    Leave a Reply

    