My Food Must-Haves

I’m not sure if this is remotely interesting, but as a relatively healthy person, who’s gone the full food spectrum from meat eater to vegetarian to vegan, and now to fish-and-sometimes-chicken-eating-‘vegetarian,’ I thought I’d take stock of what is almost always in my fridge.  This doesn’t include things I buy for ‘nice’ dinners, like tilapia, more expensive vegetables/fruits, fancy cheese, or other stuff like that.  These are my everyday must-haves:
  • Soy milk
  • Cereal (Malt-o-Meal, various Trader Joe’s cereals)
  • Baby spinach
  • Earth Balance (natural margarine)
  • Laughing Cow cheese
  • TJ’s whole wheat water crackers
  • Shredded cheese or slices of Colby
  • Plain or vanilla yogurt
  • Black, peppermint and green tea
  • Whole wheat pasta
  • Crystal hot sauce
  • Dark chocolate
  • Firm tofu
  • Bell peppers
  • Black beans
  • Cottage cheese
  • Canned/jar peaches
  • Bananas
  • Blueberries
  • Shallots
  • Onions
  • Potatoes
  • Eggs
  • Canned tuna
  • Pasta sauce
  • Whole wheat bread or english muffins

It’s weird to look at how much dairy I consume, given that I was a vegan from the ages of 13-20.  I threw in the towel right around the time I was about to leave for a semester in Ghana, where I knew veganism would be a deathwish, and I never looked back.  Except that I almost never buy milk or use butter.  I actually prefer the taste of soy milk and Earth Balance (which, if you’ve never tried it, you should – it pains me to know that I spent seven years as a vegan being unaware of the fake buttery delights of the EB).  Milk and butter have great vegan alternatives, but sadly cheese, yogurt, and cottage cheese (my new obsession) do not.  Oh well.  Honestly though, dairy foods like that are to me about convenience and price.  If I was a super talented cook or had an unlimited budget, I would probably shop at Whole Foods and maintain a gourmet vegan diet based on the menu at Millennium.  But since I’m broke and sometimes uninspired in the kitchen department, I rely on things like cottage cheese and canned pears for something to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

